While seven candidates from major students' organizations are in the fray for the coveted presidential post in the JNU Students' Union (JNUSU), five candidates each for the posts of vice-president, general secretary and joint secretary have made it to the final list.
The ultra-left All India Students Association (AISA), which had swept JNUSU elections, winning all top four positions last year has fielded Ashutosh Kumar for the presidential post.
After a wipe-out in the last year's students' union elections, the Students' Federation of India (SFI) is hoping to make a comeback after fielding Pindiga Ambedkar for the top post.
Left progressive front, an alliance of left-wing student parties including AISF, Democratic Students' Federation (DSF) and Students for Social Justice has fielded Rahila Perween, the only female candidate for the presidential post.

While Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has fielded Sourabh Kumar, NSUI has Jogendra Singh Pawar as its front runner in the JNUSU elections.
Two other candidates include Chandra Shekhar Yadav from Chattra Sangh and Prakash Kumar. Election fever has gripped the university campus with general body meetings (GBMs) of various schools beginning tomorrow followed by a presidential debate on September 10.
After a no-campaign day on September 11, polling will commence on the subsequent day, beginning 9.30 am till 5.30 pm, according to the election committee.
Counting will be done on the same day and the results will be declared on September 15, the committee said.

Latest News from States News Desk