The app - entitled Who Deleted Me - takes stock of a user's current friends list, but cannot provide backdated information, media reported.

The app tells users how many and which friends are missing or deactivated since their last Facebook login. When you first login, the app takes stock of your current friends list and every time you return it compares the latest version to the saved one.

It then informs you who your missing friends are and whether they have deactivated their account, or simply deleted you. It also enables you to keep track of who you have deleted.

Also read: Facebook rolls out suicide prevention tool in Britain