Bangladesh outsmarted India in all departments of the game and extracted a sweet revenge for their their quarterfinal loss at the hands of the same opponents in the World Cup earlier this year. Chasing an imposing 308 for win, the Indians  made a steady start before losing wickets at heap to be bundled out for 228 with four overs to spare.

Openers Rohit Sharma (63 off 68) and Shikhar Dhawan (30 off 38) stitched a 95-run stand for the first wicket, while Suresh Raina -- with a run-a-ball 40 -- and Ravindra Jadeja (32 off 42) also tried their bit to save the day for India, which was not to be.

Debutant Mustafizur Rahman (5/50) turned out to be the star performer for Bangladesh with the ball, picking up a fifer in his first international match. He was supported well by pace partner Taskin Ahmed (2/21) and Shakib al Hasan (2/33).

Earlier, Indian bowlers were taken to task by some fantastic batting by Bangladesh top-order as the home team posted a challenging score of 307 all out in 49.4 overs, their highest score against India in ODIs, surpassing the previous best of 296 for six at the same venue in 2010.

Openers Soumya Sarkar (54 off 40 balls) and Tamim Iqbal (60 off 62 balls) added 102 runs for the opening stand in only 13.4 overs to lay a solid foundation. Shakib (52 off 68 balls), Sabbir Rahaman (41 off 44 balls) and Nasir Hossain (34) batted well in the middle-order to take Bangladesh to a substantial total.

While Ravichandran Ashwin (3/51 in 10 overs) was the most successful bowler for India, Umesh Yadav (2/58 in 8 overs) and Mohit Sharma (1/53 in 4.3 overs) were especially taken apart by the Bangladeshi batsmen. Ravindra Jadeja (1/48) was good in patches and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/37 in 7 overs) ended with a decent outing.

Later, as the target suggested it was bound to be a tough chase for the Indians and it turned out to be so.

India's opening duo of Rohit and Dhawan were off to a shaky start as Bangladesh's pace combination of Mustafizur and Taskin bowled a prodding line and length. The duo's disciplined bowling initially didn't allow the Indian openers to free their arms as the visitors made just 17 runs off the first four overs.

After a cautious initial perriod, Rohit showed his class when he fetched 15 runs off Rahman in the seventh over. Rohit also notched up his 26th ODI half-century in the 15th over with a single off Nasir Hossain.

Bangladesh tasted success in the last ball of the 16th over in the form of Dhawan, whose luck finally ran out when he top-edged a Taskin delivery to Mushfiqur behind the stumps while going for an upper cut.

Taskin dealt India another blow an over later when he induced an edge to Mushfiqur off a loose shot from dangerman Virat Kohli (1).

Two overs later, debutant Mustafizur gave Bangladesh another reason to rejoice when he accounted for the important wicket of a set Rohit. Rohit failed to pick a fullish slower delivery only to give a massive leading edge to Mortaza at mid-off.

Young Mustafizur was again at the thick of things when he dismissed Ajinkya Rahane (9) in his next over with another slower ball, caught by Nasir Hossain as India slumped to a precaurious 115 for four after 23 overs.

Much was expected from the Indian captain, but Mahendra Singh Dhoni (5) too cut a sorry figure and departed early as Mushfiqur took a sharp catch off the bowling of Shakib. Raina and Jadeja then tried to steady India's rollicking ship with a 67-ball 60-run fifth-wicket partnership before the visitors lost two more quick wickets.

Mustafizur picked up his fifth wicket of the day when Jadeja was holed out at long-on by Sarkar. From there on victory was just a formality for Bangaldesh and the hosts finally managed to wrap up India's innings in the 46th over.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (capt and wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.

Latest News from Sports News Desk