The five Maoists - Surendra Sahni, Manoj Thakur, Lalbabu Baitha, Sikandar Sahni and Madhurendra Yadav – all hailing from Gangti village under Meenapur police station area - surrendered before District Magistrate Anupam Kumar and the Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Saurabh Kumar at a function in the district collectorate premises.

They also handed over a rifle and four country-made pistols to the officials.

Speaking on the occasion, the District Magistrate congratulated these five Maoists for renouncing the path of violence, and said that they will be rehabilitated under relevant schemes for the purpose and the cases of Naxal violence and intimation against the former ultras will be disposed of expeditiously.


Latest News from Bihar News Desk