Imphal: Five non-Congress parties have formed People's Democratic Front (PDF) to fight the January-28 Manipur assembly elections.
The parties are Manipur Peoples Party (MPP), National Congress Party (NCP), Janata Dal-United (JD-U), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and CPI-M, MPP President Nimaichand Luwang told reporters here on Tuesday.
Announcing a list of 30 PDF candidates for the 60-member assembly in the first phase, Luwang said while MPP would fight for 15 seats, NCP for 9, JD-U for 5 and CPI-M for one.
Besides, PDF would support the candidature of senior CPI leader M Nara in Wangjing Tentha constituency and BJP aspirant Indira Devi in Thoubal seat, he said.