Barack Obama's India visit
The celebrations of 66th Republic Day was special as US President Barack Obama graced the occasion. Obama became not only the first American President to attend the top Indian parade but also the first President to visit India twice. Barack and Michelle Obama were received at the VVIP dais of the ceremonial boulevard Rajpath by Vice President Hamid Ansari and his wife Salma, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar. Dressed in a dark suit, Obama dismissed the security concerns of the secret service and sat in an open arena for three hours with PM Modi and other leaders while watching the parade. His visit also resulted in resolving the contentious pending issues in the civil nuclear deal.

Niti Aayog

On January 1, Prime Minister Narendra Modi kick started the first day of 2015 by bidding adieu to 65-year old Planning Commission. One size fits all approach of Planning Commission was replaced by National Institute for Transforming India NITI Aayog. The Aayog comprises Lt. Governors of all Union Territories and Chief Ministers of all states to be chaired by Prime Minister of India that will foster the strategic development. It is a multi-tiered structure that emerge as a "think-tank" rather than abiding by the years old centre-to-state-flow of  Planning Commission policy also have Vice-Chairperson and a Chief Executive officer, who will be appointed by Prime Minister for a full time organisation members. A rechristened form of institution aims at giving opportunity to integrate villages institutionally into the national development process and safeguarding our environmental and ecological assets.

Anirban Lahiri won Malaysian Open and Hero India Open
Anirban Lahiri won two big titles in In February this year. While he won Malaysian Open on 7th of February, it was Hero India Open on 22nd of February. These victories brought him into the elite zone. Adding to these victories was his participation in each of the four Majors and World Golf Championships, besides an appearance at the Presidents Cup and a fifth place at the PGA Championships. This affected Anirban's world ranking in a highly positive manner and he is now placed 41 in the list.

Hockey India League 2015

Third edition of Hero Hockey India League commenced from 22nd of January to 22nd of February. Six teams participated in the event, Ranchi Rays and Dabang Mumbai being the newest additions. The prize money announced for the winners was Rs. 2.5 Crores. Punjab, Ranchi, Uttar Pradesh and Delhi were the top four teams. Ranchi Rays came out to be the winner by defeating Punjab Warriors. 139 goals were scored in the entire tournament, Ashley Jackson scoring the most.

35th National Games

The 35th edition of National Games was held from 31 January 2015 to 14 February 2015. The annual sport event was hosted in Kerala with the top three medal winners being: Services, Kerala and Haryana. This was the second time Kerela was hosting the event, the first being in 1987. 33 games were played in 2015 National Games, yachting being the newest addition. Aquatics, athletics and shooting proved to be the most popular events. Indian cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar was made the goodwill ambassador for the games.

Martina Hingis-Leander Paes won Australian Open

Martina Hingis and Leander Paes claimed the Australian Open mixed doubles title on January 31. The Indo-Swiss pair defeated Daniel Nestor and Kristina Mladenovic at the Rod Laver Arena to clinch the title. Paes, veteran doubles specialist was joined by Martina Hingis to put up an amazing show during the tournament. Hingis went on to say that she was thankful to her idol Martina Navratilova  for suggesting Paes as the partner to her. Navratilova had partnered and won Australian Open and Wimbledon mixed doubles with Paes in the past and was present in the stands to witness the game.

Agni-V Test Launched
The Agni-V was test launched from a canister in Wheeler Island, suitable for road or rail mobile launch vehicles on January 31.

Bhakti Sharma set a world record in open water swimming:
Bhakti Sharma is a leading Indian open water swimmer. Sharma is the first Asian woman and the youngest in the world to set a record in open swimming in Antarctic waters. On 14th of January, she set a world record by swimming 1.4 miles in 52 minutes in one degree temperature in the Antarctic Ocean. Bhakti has swum in all the five oceans of the world. She has been pursuing open water swimming for the last 10 years and has also swam across four oceans, eight channels and seas. This also is a world record.

Latest News from India News Desk