"There will be no summer vacation in government schools in the flood-prone 119 blocks in 20 districts," R.S. Singh, an official of the education department said.

Arguing that school-going children are deprived of their education during floods, Singh said: “We have decided not to have a summer vacation in government schools, and instead have a flood-vacation to compensate.”

Among the flood-prone districts are Purnea, Araria, Kishanganj, Muzaffarpur, Katihar, Supaul, Saharsa, Gopalganj, Begusarai, Saran, Vaisali, Khagaria, Samastipur, Lakhisarai and Madhepura.

In Bihar, government schools will be closed for summer vacation from May 26 to June 7.

"The summer vacation will be for schools in 18 districts, which are not flood-prone or affected by drought," he said.


Latest News from State News Desk