Both the Force India drivers were eliminated in Q2 when Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg came out for their final laps in the dying moments of the session.
Both the McLaren drivers will start ahead of Force India cars which mean the British side will have the chance to increase the lead over the Indian side.
Sergio Perez will start eighth and former champion Jenson Button ninth.
McLaren (65) had snatched fifth place from Force India (61) in the last race at Spa by taking a four-point lead, courtesy Button's sixth-place finish.
Defending champion Sebastian Vettel grabbed the pole, his fourth of the season, and joining him in the front row is his Red Bull teammate Mark Webber.
Nico Hulkenberg was a surprise third in his Sauber while Felipe Massa out-qualified his Ferrai teammate Fernando Alonso. They are fourth and fifth respectively.
Nico Rosberg was sixth in his Mercedes and following him is Daniel Ricciardo in his Toro Rosso. Jean-Eric Vergne claimed the 10th spot in second Toro Rosso.


Latest News from Sports News Desk