Be it arch rivals BJP and Congress or newbie Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), each of them have fielded a number of retired bureaucrats this time.

While former home secretary R K Singh, a 1975-batch retired IAS officer, is contesting from Arrah constituency in Bihar as BJP candidate, former Kerala governor Nikhil Kumar, a retired 1963-batch IPS officer, is the fray from Bihar's Aurangabad parliamentary constituency on a Congress ticket.

Singh is pitted against sitting MP and Janata Dal (United) candidate Meena Singh. Kumar, who has also served as Delhi Police Commissioner, is contesting against JD (U) candidate Sushil Kumar Singh, who represents the seat in Lok Sabha.

Another retired bureaucrat Christy Fernandez, who was secretary to former president Pratibha Patil, is trying his luck from Kerala's Ernakulam constituency.

Fernandez is a 1973-batch former IAS officer of Gujarat cadre. The constituency is represented by Minister of State (Independent Charge) Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution K V Thomas.

Former army chief General (retired) VK Singh is fighting his maiden election from Uttar Pradesh's Ghaziabad constituency on a BJP ticket. His main rivals are Congress' Raj Babbar and AAP's Shazia Ilmi.

Ghaziabad constituency is represented in Lok Sabha by BJP chief Rajnath Singh, who is contesting the polls from Lucknow.

Two former IPS officers, who are also brothers, are contesting from Rajasthan’s Dausa constituency.

Harish Meena, a 1976-batch retired IPS officer, is contesting on BJP ticket against his brother Namo Narain Meena.

Namo Narain Meena, a 1969-batch retired IPS officer, is contesting on a Congress ticket.


Latest News from India News Desk