The Congress has fielded Biswal from Sundergarh constituency from where he had won in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls.

Biswal said he is unwilling to contest because the party fielded two candidates from Bonei and Raghunathpalli assembly constituencies in his Lok Sabha area despite his opposition.

The elections to Odisha's 21 Lok Sabha seats and the 147-member state assembly would be held simultaneously in two phases on April 10 and 17.

He said the party’s state leadership was taking arbitrarily decisions without consulting him and other senior leaders. He also expressed his surprise that the central leadership favoured such moves.

"I am not interested to contest the election," he told reporters.

Biswal has served as a Congress legislator for six terms before being elected to the Lok Sabha in 2009 general elections. He served as Chief Minister twice for about four months from December 7, 1989 to March 3, 1990 and another four months from December 6, 1999 to March 5, 2000.

He also served as a minister for several years.


Latest News from State News Desk