New Delhi: Close on the footsteps of Jamia Millia Islamia, four degree colleges affiliated to the Delhi University have been awarded the minority institution status.

The National Commission for Minority Educational Institutions (NCMEI) announced this decision on Tuesday providing minority status to Delhi University’s Guru teg Bahadur Khalsa Degree College, Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce, Guru Nanakdev Khalsa College and Mata Sundari College of Women. The format to provide the required facilities to these institutions has already been prepared.

NCMEI chairman Justice (Retired) MSA Siddiqui along with members Mohinder Singh and Cyrus Thomas made a formal declaration in this regard on Tuesday.

A petition was filed by the Delhi Sikh Gurudwara Management Committee in 2008 seeking minority status for Guru Teg Bahadur Khalsa Degree College as the Management and monitoring of the college was run by them.

However, the Delhi University management argued that the motive of the University was to provide education to all students irrespective of their communities.

During the hearing of the suit, the Gurudwara Management Committee sought minority status for three more colleges run by it.

After taking all facts and evidences into consideration, the commission awarded minority status to the aforesaid four colleges.

It is noteworthy that a quota of 50 percent has to be reserved for the admission of the concerned minority in the institutions awarded with the status.