A division bench comprising Justice Satish K Agnihotry and Justice P Devadass gave the direction while closing a suo motu contempt petition against advocates K Ramamurthy, K Mayilsamy, R Dominic Ravi and G Prabakaran.

"It is very often said that Bench and the Bar shall work in unison to run the chariot of justice smoothly. The members of the Bar, who are Officers of the Court, have a basic duty to assist the courts in its mission to deliver justice," the Judges said.

The four advocates had locked the court hall of the District Munsif-cum-Judicial Magistrate in Rameswaram on March 17 last during a protest.

The court staff and others were also prevented from entering the court. When the Presiding Officer and the staff entered the court through another entrance and started the proceedings, the four lawyers came inside the Court Hall, used abusive words against the Presiding Officer and disrupted the proceedings.

When high court took up the contempt matter, the laywers submitted apology letters and assured that in future such things will not occur.

 They shall appear before the learned District Munisif cum Judicial Magistrate, Rameswaram on November 23 in open court and shall tender their unconditional apology.

Latest News from State News Desk