"On the last day of withdrawal of the nominations for the second phase of Assembly elections in J&K yesterday, for which polling is scheduled to be held on December 2, 175 candidates are in fray for the 18 constituencies in the five districts of Kupwara, Kulgam, Reasi, Udhampur and Poonch," an official spokesman said.

Among the ministers from the Omar Abdullah government is Ajaz Khan of Congress contesting from Gool Arnas seat followed by Mir Saifullah (NC) from Kupawara Assembly Constituency, Choudhary Mohd Ramzan (NC) from Handwara and Sakina Itoo (NC) from Noorabad seat.

Apart from these, there are 18 sitting MLAs and MLCs and former ministers including Aijaz Jan, Javed Rana (MLC), Kafil Ur Rehman, (all NC), Krishen Chander and Amin Bhat (MLC) (all INC), Gaffar Sofi (MLA & Former Minister) Sartaj Mandi (Dy Speaker), Abdul Haq Khan (both PDP), Balwant Mankotia and Harsh Dev Singh (MLA & Former Minister), Baldev Raj Sharma and Abdul Rahseed (noth Independents), M Y Tarigami (CPIM).

Besides, former ministers -Gulam Mohideen Sofi (PDP),Syed Mushtaq Bukhari (NC), Abdul Gani Malik (MLA) and Jagjiwan Lal (NC) and Jugal Kishore (MLC) of Congress.

From the Karnah Assembly constituency, seven candidates are in the fray including Ashfaq-Ur-Rehman (BJP), Jahangir Khan (Panthers Party), Raja Manzoor Ahamed Khan (PDP), Ali Asgar Khan (INC), Kafil-Ur-Rehman (NC), Aijaz Ahamed Badana (All J&K Kissan Mazdoor Party) and Mohd Saleem Mir (J&KPC).

In Kupwara Assembly constituency, 12 candidates are in the fray including Sardar Khan (BSP), Saifullah Khan (NCP), Ab Rehman Lone (BJP), Gh Rasool Malik (INC), Mir Saif-ul-llah (JKNC), Mir Mohd Fayaz (JKPDP), Wali Mohd Khan (JKNPP), Adv. Bashir Ahmad Dar (JKPC), Gh Hassan Sheikh, (Kissan Mazdoor Party) while as Javid Ahmad Wani, Adv. Mohd Amin Peer and Mustaq Ahmad Sheikh are Independent candidates.

In Lolab Assembly constituency, nine candidates are in the fray Abdul Haq Khan (PDP), Ab. Rasheed Zargar (BJP), Ghulam Ahmad Malik (JKNPP), Gh. Nabi Shah (BSP), Haji Farooq Ahmad Mir (INC), Qaiser Jamsheed Lone (JKNC), Suriya Bano (RPI), Abdul Rehman Wani (JKPC) and Mohd Sultan Magray (Kisan Mazdoor Party (Ind).

In Handwara Assembly Constituency, 12 candidates are in the fray including Chowdry Mohamad Ramzan (NC), Sajad Ahmad Pir (BSP), Ghulam Mohi-Ui-Din Sofi (PDP), Mohd Abdullah Bhat (NPP), Mohd Yaseen Bhat (INC), Sajad Gani Lone (J&KPC), Gh. Qadir Mircha (All J&K Kissan Mazdoor Party), Ajaz Ahmad Sofi Independent (AIP), Haneefa Begum Independent (JKNPPF), Abdul Rahman Tantry (Independent), Anaytullah Lohar, (Independent) and Hilal Ahmad Tantry (Independent).

In Langate Assembly Constituency, 11 candidates are in fray including Bashir Ahmad Wani (INC), Javid Ahmad Najar (J&KNPP), Mohd Maqbool War (BJP), Gh. Nabi Ganai (Pandithpori) (PDP), Wali Mohd Bhat, (J&K NC), Er. Abdul Rashid Sheikh (J&K Awami Itihad Party), Advocate Mohd Abdullah Mir (J&KPC), Irshad Hussain Ganai (Independent), Haji Mohd Akbar Ganai (Independent), Mohd Ramzan Malla (Independent) and Mudasir Ahmad Tantray (Independent).

In Noorabad Assembly Constituency, 15 candidates are in the fray including Sakina Itoo (NC), Abdur Rehman Magray (BSP), Abdul Majeed Padder (PDP), Mushtaq Ahmad (JKNPP), Mushtaq Ahmed Malik (BJP), Manzoor Ahmad Zargar (INC) while Akther Hussain Shah, Bilal Ahmad Bhat, Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Tawseef Ahmad Dar, Abdul Rashid Bhat, Gulzar Ahmed Mir, Mohd Amin Teli, Mushtaq Ahmad Doie and Mehraj-ud-Din Dar are Independent candidates.

In Kulgam Assembly Constituency, eight candidates are in fray including Peer Nazim-ud-Din (INC), Riyaz Ahmad Shah (BSP), Imran Nabi Dar (NC), Ghulam Hassan Zargar (BJP), Mohammad Yousuf Tarigami (CPI-M), Nazir Ahmad Laway (PDP), Towseef Ahmad Shah (Independent) and Rashida Mir (Independent).

In HumshaliBugh Assembly Constituency, eight candidates are in fray -- Bashir Ahmad Bhat (BSP), Abdul Gaffar Sofi (PDP), Abdul Majeed (NC), Anayatullah Rather (INC), Ghulam Nabi Dar (BJP), Mohammad Ayoub Sheikh (JKNPP), Mohd. Amin Bhat (Samaj Wadi Party) and Abdul Bary Naik (Independent).

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk