Dehradun: With the Election Commission announcing the poll dates for the Uttarakhand Assembly elections, frantic lobbying to get chief ministerial berth has also begun in the Congress as well as the BJP camps.

In fact, both the Congress and BJP are the broad-based parties in the hill state with greater share of vote banks. However, the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party are also striving hard to make their presence felt and play a significant role in case of the fractured verdict.

As far as BJP is concerned, Chief Minister Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri has an important role to play in selection of party candidates. Garhwal region and Pauri Parliamentary constituency are considered to be his fiefdom.

Former CM Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank’s advice will also be considered in the distribution of tickets as he has influence over some assembly segments falling under Pauri, Chamoli and Rudraprayag districts. 

According to sources in the BJP, the role of former CM and state election management committee chairman Bhagat Singh Koshyari in distribution of tickets will also be significant.

Moreover, the survey conducted by the party president, Nitin Gadkari, is likely to play a major role in selecting candidates particularly in Haridwar and Udham Singh Nagar districts.

Almost same is the story in Congress camp. Being the UPCC chief, Yashpal Sharma will be the natural contender for the chief ministerial post if the Congress crosses the magic figure of 36 seats in the 70-member House. Certainly, he is going to be instrumental in distribution of tickets.

Presently, Harish Rawat is a Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs. He has been aiming for the coveted post since Uttarakhand was bifurcated from Uttar Pradesh in November 2000.

The advice of Opposition leader Harak Singh Rawat cannot be ignored in selecting the party candidates as he is also one of the main contenders for the chief ministerial post.

Meanwhile, senior state Congress leaders including Uttrakhand Pradesh Congress Committee President and Leader of Opposition are camping in Delhi to secure party tickets for their loyalists.

Several leaders including UPCC president Yashpal Sharma, Opposition leader Harak Singh Rawat, Deputy Leader in Legislative Assembly Tilakraj Behar, MLA Pritam Singh and Union Minister Harish Rawat remained stationed there.