1. The Oval 1971: India win by four wickets

1st match of the tour at Lord's ended in a drawn (England 304 and 191; India 313 and 145/8). The second Test At Old Trafford, Manchester ended in drawn again (England 386 and 245/3d; India 212 and 65/3) but the last Test of the series played at Kennington Oval in London was won by Indian team by 4 wickets (England 355 and 101; India 284 and 174/6) and India won the series.

England won the toss and elected to bat and posted 355. Ray Illingworth was the first to exploit the turning track and he claimed five wickets to stop India at 284. Then Chandrasekhar left England reeling in the second innings and they were bundeled out for 101, leaving India 174 to chase. India lost openers Sunil Gavaskar and Ashok Mankad with just 37 on board but skipper Ajit Wadekar and Dilip Sardesai ensured that India broke their winless streak in England.

2. India tour of England 1986

India started the tour with a win at at Lord's by 5 wickets (England 294 and 180; India 341 and 136/5). India too won the second Test at Headingley in Leeds. India won by 279 runs (India 272 and 237; England 102 and 128) and last Test at Edgbaston in Birmingham ended in a draw (England 390 and 235; India 390 and 174/5). India won the series.

Lord’s 1986: India win by 5 wickets

Swing bowling ruled the roost in India’s first win at the Lord's, the Mecca of cricket. Graham Gooch smashed century but was usurped by Chetan Sharma’s five wicket haul in the first Innings. Sharma was complemented well by Roger Binny as England were all-out for 294. Dilip Vengsarkar showed his class and scored a unbeaten century. England only made 180 in their second innings and India chased down 134. After losing opening batsmen, Vengsarkar scored a patient 33 before Kapil’s blitzkrieg cameo took India home by five wickets.

3. Leeds 1986: India beat England by 279 runs

Vengsarkar again scored fifty after India batted first but could only manage 272 in first innings. Binny and Madan Lal waded through the English line-up and the hosts were bundled out for a paltry 102. Kapil, Madan lal and Binny lent Vengsarkar ample support down the order while he notched up another century. Given the task of chasing a near-impossible 407 to win, England’s batting was yet again flopped. Spinner Maninder Singh claimed four-wicket haul to gave India a first-ever series win in England.

4. India in England (2002)

England won first Test at Lord's by 170 runs (England 487 and 301/6d; India 221 and 397). Second Test at Trent Bridge, Nottingham ended in a draw (India 357 and 424/8d; England 617) but third Test at Headingley, Leeds India won by an innings and 46 runs (India 628/8d; England 273 and 309 f/o) and last Test at Kennington Oval, London too ended in a draw (England 515 and 114/0; India 508).

Leeds 2002: India hammer England by an innings and 46 runs

After electing to bat first, Rahul Dravid smashed ton to which opposition skipper Nasser Hussain exclaimed that it was amongst the finest he had witnessed. Sachin Tendulkar then made mincemeat out of the bowling attack along with skipper Sourav Ganguly. The duo amassed a 249-run partnership and slammed centuries. Tendulkar fell seven short of a double hundred and India got mammoth score of 628 in first innings. Despite gutsy knock by Alec Stewart, Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble ramped the middle order to make the hosts follow-on. England displayed an improved show with the bat, Hussian leading the charge with a century but failed to save the match.

5. Pataudi Trophy: India in England-2007

First Test at Lord's ended in a draw (England 298 and 282; India 201 and 282/9) while India won the second Test at Trent Bridge, Nottingham by 7 wickets (England 198 and 355; India 481 and 73/3). And final Test at Kennington Oval, London too ended in a draw (India 664 and 180/6d; England 345 and 369/6). India won a series in England after 21 years.

Trent Bridge 2007: India cruise to victory by 7 wickets

Skipper Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bowl. Wickets fell at regular intervals on day 1, Zaheer stole the show with a four-wicket haul and England were skittled out for 198. Dinesh Karthik and Wasim Jaffer built a solid 147-run opening stand. The English bowlers were smashed by Tendulkar, Ganguly and VVS, who gave India a commanding 283-run lead. Michael Vaughan waged a lone battle but his team failed to give any fight. Zaheer picked up a five-for in the second innings. Indian batters chased down 73 to give India their first series win on English soil in a little more than two decades.

6. Lord’s 2014: India creats history and beat England by 95 runs

Indians were asked to bat first on thick green pitch of the Lord’s wicket on day 1. With the bowlers expected to make inroads, Ajinkya Rahane smashed century to show his class on fast and green pitch and helped India score 295 in first innings. England responded in fine fashion and Gary Ballance too smashed a ton and late fighting fifty down the order from Liam Plunkett got England to 319. Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar finished with figures of 6/82. Opening bastsman Murali Vijay trudged along with a monumental 95 and counter-attack from Ravindra Jadeja late in the innings put India in pole position with England needing to chase 319. Ishant Sharma then bounced out England for 223 on Day 5 to reward India with their first overseas win in three years and after 28 years at Lord’s.

Latest News from Sports News Desk