Chennai: Gautam Gambhir and Yuvraj Singh were left out of India's entire tour of the West Indies and Sachin Tendulkar, who had earlier opted out of the ODI series, was rested as the national selectors announced the 16-member squad for the Test series next month on Friday.

Tamil Nadu opener Abhinav Mukund was the lone new face in the squad announced by the BCCI Secretary N Srinivasan after a marathon meeting of the selection committee here.

The young Suresh Raina was named captain of the ODI series after original choice Gambhir was ruled out for the entire tour because of a shoulder injury. Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh would be Raina's deputy.

Yuvraj was also unavailable for the entire trip as he is suffering from an upper respiratory infection with a small patch of pneumonitis in the left lung.

"Gautam Gambhir will be unavailable for the full tour of the West Indies, on account of his shoulder injury. Yuvraj Singh will also be unavailable for the full tour. He is suffering from an upper respiratory infection, with a small patch of pneumonitis in the left lung," the BCCI said in a statement.

Tendulkar, who was not part of the ODI team, requested that he be allowed to spend time with his family.

"He will therefore not play the Test series. However, he will be available for the full tour of England, that follows," the BCCI said.

Shikhar Dhawan and Manoj Tiwary have been named as the replacements for Gambhir and Yuvraj, for the Twenty20 and ODI series starting June 4.

The squad:

MS Dhoni (Captain), VVS Laxman (Vice Captain), M Vijay, Abhinav Mukund, Rahul Dravid, Virat Kohli, S Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, S Sreesanth, Amit
Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Suresh Raina, Parthiv Patel.