Itanagar: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jarbom Gamlin resigned on Monday, capping weeks of dissidence against his leadership, and Congress Legislature Party left a decision on his successor to party Chief Sonia Gandhi.
Party sources here said that the new CLP leader would be selected by AICC President Sonia Gandhi on Tuesday followed by swearing-in of a new Chief Minister during the day.
Highly-placed official sources said Gamlin in his resignation letter recommended the names of Power (Electrical) Minister Setong Sena and Finance Minister Kalikho Pul for the top post.
Earlier in the day, a three-member team of AICC observers headed by Union Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, along with former DoNER Minister B K Handique and party’s General Secretary and In-charge of Arunachal Pradesh Dhaniram Shandil, held parleys with the Congress legislators here.
Out of 42 Congress legislators, 40 signed a one-point resolution authorising Sonia Gandhi to appoint a new CLP leader in the state.
The resolution "we the party MLAs are authorizing Sonia Gandhi to nominate the CLP leader" was read out to newsmen by Shinde.
The other two party MLAs are the Speaker and Wangki Lowang. Lowang did not attend the meeting.
The change in leadership was demanded by a majority of Congress legislators led by dissident leader and PCC Chief Nabam Tuki.
On October 29, both Gamlin and his party rival PCC chief Tuki had offered to resign from their posts. The AICC President had met both of them that evening.
The rift between Tuki and Gamlin had become a major issue dividing the party along ethnic lines in the state with the majority of Congress legislators demanding Gamlin's resignation for his alleged 'authoritarian rule'.
Gamlin was sworn in as Chief Minister on May 5 after the death of former Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter crash on April 30 this year.
Besides Congress, Trinamool Congress has 5 members, NCP-5, People's Party of Arunachal 4, the BJP-3 besides a lone Independent in the 60-member House.
Trinamool Congress and NCP provide outside support to the Congress government.