Mumbai (Agencies): IPL has shut its door totally on Sourav Ganguly. IPL's Governing Council stalled what could have been a back-door entry for Ganguly after he was left unsold at the players' auction in Bangalore at a base price of USD 400,000.

"Based on the views from Franchisees, IPL Governing Council decided not to make available the unsold Indian Players from the auction," said a release from Cricket Board's secretary N Srinivasan who is a member of the GC as an office bearer of the Board.

That effectively dashed the hopes of not only Ganguly, who went unsold at the two-day auction on January 8 and 9, but also those of two other capped players - Wasim Jaffer and V R V Singh - who will not feature in the April 8-May 28 tournament.

"We had received a request from one franchise (Kochi) that Ganguly should be allowed to be purchased outside the auction and rejected it after objections were raised by some other franchises," Amin said.

At the same time, Karnataka batsman Manish Pandey has been banned from playing for first four IPL matches for his new franchise Sahara Pune Warriors for breaching player guidelines, the league's Governing Council said.

About the reason for cracking the whip and imposing the ban on Pandey, Srinivasan stated that based on the complaints from franchisees and after meeting with the player, the GC had imposed a four-match ban on the player.

"He cannot play the first four matches of IPL Season-4. As desired by him, he is permitted to play for the Pune Franchise," Srinivasan said in his release.

Amin told reporters that Pandey, through his agent, had haggled with several franchises.

Pandey played for the Bangalore Royal Challengers in the first three seasons of IPL.

The IPL also saw no merit in the letter from Mumbai Indians franchise alleging complaints of irregularities in the conduct of January 8-9 players' auction and declared that the auction was held in a fair and transparent manner.

"As regards the letter from M/s. India Win Sports Private Limited (Mumbai Indians) regarding the recent IPL auction, the Governing Council was briefed by the operational team including IMG on all aspects of the letter. The procedure followed in this year's auction is exactly the same as was done in all the previous IPL auctions," Srinivasan said.

"Representatives of all Franchisees had read the auction briefing note prepared by the IMG which included the changes referred to and signed the same in acceptance before the auction including the India Win Sports Private Limited (Mumbai Indians). The Governing Council reiterates that the auction was transparent and fair," he added.

Five new IPL Committees also appointed

Code of Behaviour Committee: Shashank Manohar, Arun Jaitley, Chirayu Amin, Ravi Shastri, Ajay Shirke.

Technical Committee: Chirayu Amin, Mohinder Amarnath, Ravi Shastri, M P Pandove, Sanjay Jagdale, Ranjib Biswal.

Entertainment Committee: Chirayu Amin, Rajeev Shukla, Anurag Thakur, Ranjib Biswal.