The decision was taken at a meeting of Bahujan Samaj Party legislators chaired by party supremo Mayawati here. After Maurya raised a banner of revolt against Mayawati and quit the party, the names of four MLAs were doing the rounds for the coveted post.
Dinkar's name for the post was on the top because he is believed to be one of BSP's key Dalit leaders in the Bundelkhand region. He is an MLA from Naraini in Banda district. 62-year-old Maurya, who was the former Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly, had quit the party on June 22.

Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk