The event returns to Europe for the first time since London in 2012, after taking place in leading sports cities around the world, including Rio de Janeiro and Shanghai. Edwin Moses, double Olympic gold medallist and Chairman of the Laureus World Sports Academy, said: "I am delighted that the 2016 Laureus Awards is to be staged in Berlin.

Our Foundation has been very active in spreading the Sport for Good message since 2001 and it's exciting to be bringing the Awards to Germany for the first time. "Everyone there has a real passion for sport and I know this will be an occasion to remember."

Consisting of seven categories, the Awards will celebrate the achievements of the outstanding athletes from 2015, crowning the Sportsman, Sportswoman, Action, Disability athlete and Team of the Year. The Awards will also recognise the greatest sporting Breakthrough of 2015, as well as choosing the most impressive Comeback.

Michael Mueller, Mayor of Berlin, said: "All around the world sports brings people together. The spirit of the Laureus Awards fits to a city like Berlin. We are delighted to be the first German city to host this special event."

Among the sporting greats who have been named as winners of Laureus Awards since 2000 are Usain Bolt, Novak Djokovic, Michael Schumacher, Roger Federer, Serena Williams, Alex Ferguson, Lewis Hamilton, Rafael Nadal, Pelé, Steve Redgrave, Ronaldo, Kelly Slater, Shaun White, Yelena Isinbayeva and Zinedine Zidane.

Latest News from Sports News Desk