President conferred the awards to three veteran leaders for the years 2010, 2011 and 2012, respectively at a function organised by the Indian Parliamentary Group.

Going down the memory lane, Jaitley said when he looks back it seems that he has come a long way. Meanwhile, Congress leader Karan Singh recalled his earliest association with the parliament, which dates back to 1950s.

Remembering the times of India’s independence, Janta Dal-United chief Sharad Yadav talked about making his Parliamentary debut at the time when it was still abuzz with freedom fighters.

President said Jaitley, Karan Singh and Yadav were worthy successors of the illustrious lineage of parliamentarians who have received the award in the past.

"They have been steadfast in their commitment to our country and its people. All of them have made substantial contributions to our parliamentary life," he said.

The President complimented Prime Minister Narendra Modi for having commenced his innings in parliament as leader of the majority party by bowing down in front of its steps and paying homage to this "great institution".

Speaking on the occasion, Modi urged Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan to convene a meeting of speakers of all state assemblies, so that the practice of awarding outstanding legislators could be extended to the states as well.

He said the country was looking at parliament with a lot of hope, and added that it may also be worthwhile to conduct a survey among the people as to how they judged a particular session of parliament.

Latest News from India News Desk