Seven candidates filed their nominations on Wednesday for the biennial election to the Rajya Sabha, an official spokesman said.
Those who filed nominations are Mir Mohammad Fayaz (PDP), Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo (NC), Shamsher Singh (BJP), Nasir Aslam Wani (NC), Nazir Ahmad Laway (PDP), Chander Mohan Sharma (BJP) and Ghulam Nabi Azad (INC), he said.
The scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Thursday. The election of four Rajya Sabah seats is scheduled to be held on February 7, he added.
PDP and BJP are hopeful of winning four seats by fighting polls jointly.

Latest News from States News Desk