Home   Constituencies
Candidates History Schedule

Parrikar sworn-in as Goa Chief Minister

Family raj behind Congress debacle

‘Not projecting me to CM post cost Cong’

Obama style campaign in Goa polls

Goa polls: Rebels galore in Congress

More News 

The history of Goan politics

The history of Goan politics dates back to first assembly election of the union territory of Goa, Daman and Diu in 1963 for a 30-member house.  Goa, Daman and Diu Reorganization Act, 1987 paved the way for the creation of Goa as a separate state in 1987. But instability of a series of state governments since the new state was formed is a stark reality of the state politics.

Both the national and regional parties came to power in the state but the state witnessed 15 Chief Ministers during 1990 to 2005. That means a Chief Minister was changed in the duration of a year. BJP leader Manohar Parrikar was the first Chief Minister in the last one and a half decade of the state politics to lead a government for little less than five years from 2000 to 2005, barring a gap of over three months from February to June 2002.  MORE