Panaji: Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) has announced a list of 22 candidates for the forthcoming Goa polls.

The list, which was announced on Sunday night, includes names of its prominent leaders, except its Member of Parliament Sripad Naik, who has refused to contest.

Party's central election committee, which met in Delhi last night, with the party national president Nitin Gadkari as its head, finalised the list.

Ananth Kumar, party's national general secretary said that the meeting was attended by parliamentary committee chairman L K Advani, Lok Sabha Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj, Rajya Sabha Leader of Opposition Arun Jaitley and all other members of central election committee.

BJP has entered into pre-poll alliance with the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) for March 3 Goa polls. The party will be contesting 31 seats, of the 40-member Assembly, while MGP will contest 8 seats. One seat will be given for an independent candidate.

The first list has cleared candidature of party's state chief Laxmikant Parsekar, leader of opposition Manohar Parrikar and other prominent leaders.