Panaji: Congress on Sunday released its final list of four candidates for March 3 Goa Assembly polls.

"M K Shaikh will be the party nominee for Fatorda seat while Isidore Fernandes will be in the fray from Cancona," Goa state unit general secretary Altinho Gomes said.

Congress refused ticket to its leader Vijay Sardesai for Fatorda constituency after Muslim community in the state pressed for their representation in the ticket allotment.

For Cancona, Fernandes emerged as the party's choice even as Vijay Pai Khot, who recently resigned from BJP, was interested to contest from there.

Govind Sawant and former state unit president Sankalp Amonkar are given tickets to contest from Sanvordem and Mormugao seats respectively, Gomes said.

Out of total of 40 seats, Congress, which has forged alliance with NCP, is fighting on 33 seats.