Addressing a press conference at a city hotel, Farad Bhathena of FB Motorsports said the MRF Rally de Goa is expected to host over 20 entries for the national Championship round, from enthusiasts across cities, including teams from Tata Motors, Mahindra and Maruti Suzuki.

Classes include pro-expert, pro-stock and pro-stock ladies.

In order to encourage local, budding, motor sports enthusiasts, a local TSD event will run simultaneously along with the national rally.

Classes include, couples class, ladies class and open class.

Regularity rallying, also known as TSD rallying (Time, Speed, Distance), is a form of motor sport usually conducted on public roads but sometimes include off road and track sections.

"The objective of these rallies is to maintain precise times and precise average speeds on various segments of a pre-defined route. Each team usually consists of ad driver and navigator. Teams usually start a regularity rally at fixed intervals creating a field that is spread along the route," said Farad.

Farad, who is spearheading the initiative of bringing TSD rallies to Goa, is a well-known rally driver having competed in over 200 rallies and races in India and South East Asia.

A three-time National Rally Champion and multiple winner of the iconic Great Himalayan Desert Rallies, BBC Top Gear has rated him as amongst the 10 best drivers ever in the country.

"This event is one of our many efforts to encourage and groom drivers to maintain safety control and to sharpen their skills, as well as to imbibe navigational skills," Farad said.

The winner is get a cash prize of Rs 40 lakh, while the runners-up will get Rs 30 lakh and third and fourth place will get Rs 10 and 5 lakh each.

Surjit Kumar of Bangalore and Amol of Tata are among the top drivers who will take part in the event.

Latest News from Sports News Desk