Amandeep Drall finished with a total score of 215 to take the second position, three strokes behind Sharmila as the Rs. 6,00,000 event culminated at the Jaypee Greens in Greater Noida.

Hero MotoCorp sponsored Sharmila played a bogey-free front nine with birdies on the 6th and 8th holes. However, she could not sustain the momentum in her back nine and bogeyed the 10th, 12th and 15th holes, but birdies on the 11th and 13th were enough to secure her a three-stroke victory after finishing with a total of 212 after 54 holes.

Rookie Amandeep carded one-over 73 in the final round to take the second spot. Like Sharmila, she too played a blemish-free front nine with birdies on the 1st and 5th holes but she dropped three shots on the 12th, 13th and 17th holes, and had to settle for the second position.

The Panchkula pro has been impressive in her rookie year and this is her fourth runners up finish along with two victories this season. Hero Order of Merit leader Vani Kapoor of Delhi and Kolkata’s Neha Tripathi finished with identical totals of 220 to tie for the third place.

Vani was the best player in the field on Friday as she brought home a flawless round of four-under 68 which included birdies on the 9th, 10th, 11th and 13th holes. Neha, in contrast, played a birdie-less front nine with bogeys on the 3rd and 4th holes along with a double on the 9th. She dropped two more shots on the 15th and 18th holes, but birdies on the 12th, 14th and 17th helped her control the damage as she finished the round with a score of three-over 75.

Veteran Smriti Mehra came up with an effort of two-over 74 in the final round to finish fifth. Her card included three birdies on the 10th, 11th and 13th holes, along with an equal number of bogeys on the 2nd, 4th and 7th. She also carded a double bogey on the 6th hole to finish at 221.

Amateur Diksha Dagar’s two-over 74 saw her end sixth with a total score of 225, while Kapurthala’s Gursimar Badwal finished at seventh spot with a total score of 228, followed by amateurs Tvesa Malik and Anisha Padukone at eighth and ninth respectively.

Latest News from Sports News Desk