New Delhi: In a staggering revelation, the Union Law Ministry said that Justice HL Gokhale was superseded during his three-year stint as Chief Justice of Allahabad High Court, before he was appointed judge of the Supreme Court on April 30, 2010. Before his elevation, he was Chief Justice of the Allahabad and Madras High Courts.

The Law Ministry made this revelation in its reply to the RTI filed by activist SC Aggrawal after the orders of Central Information Commission.

The ministry said the seniority of Justice Gokhale was overlooked between 2007 and 2010. Ministry has revealed the names of SC Judges whose seniority has been ignored at least once before his elevation to the Apex Court.

Generally collegiums of SC select the Chief Justice of high courts for their promotion to the Apex Court on the basis of seniority.

The Law Ministry has also disclosed the names of four Justices whose files relating to appointment as Justice of High Court have been returned by the President.

The Justices superseded:

Justices D K Jain, Markandey Katju, V S Sirpurkar, GS Singhvi, MK Sharma, AK Patnaik, Cyriac Joseph, Panchal, AK Ganguly, Swatanter Kumar, HL Dattu, RM Lodha, TS Thakur, Gyan Sudha Misra, Swatnater Kumar, BS Chauhan, KS Radhakrishnan and AR Dave, CK Prasad.