Narayanasamy said that the government in 2009, had decided to set up 71 additional special courts, especially for trial of CBI cases in various states. Out of these 71 courts, 66 courts are functional.

Narayanasamy said, "One court at Srinagar has to be dropped. Since the state government could not provide infrastructure, four courts could not be started, three in Odisha and one in Goa."
He further said that due to less number of CBI cases, the court which was initially supposed to be set up at Panchkula was later shifted to Srinagar.
"Since the Central Government, on direction of the Honourable Supreme Court on December 13, 2012 decided to set up 22 more additional special courts for CBI cases in the country which include one at Srinagar, this proposed court for Srinagar (out of 71) has be dropped," he said.
Replying to a supplementary question posed by BJP leader Ravi Shankar Prasad, Narayanasamy said that the government does not interfere in investigations, which are conducted by CBI.
"Our government never interfered in investigations by CBI, UPA government will never interfere in CBI investigation," Narayanasamy said.
The Minister also said that 88 posts, including that of public prosecutors, for the 22 courts for CBI have been sanctioned. States have been requested to provide infrastructure and manpower for the courts, he said.


Latest News from India News Desk