"Prime Minister Narendra Modi has constituted a committee in which Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, Oil Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Power Minister Piyush Goyal, Minister of State in Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh and myself are included," Labour Minister Bandaru Dattatreya said on Monday.

He was addressing the media at the unveiling of an exhibition cum awareness meeting. A release by the Labour Ministry said it has decided to constitute Inter-Ministerial Committee "to hold threadbare discussions with representatives of Central Trade Unions on 10-point charter of demands and other issues being raised by them and for recommending measures to address those issues."

The trade unions have several demands. The Ministry has already discussed these issues with them and also met them twice, Dattatreya said.

"Threadbare discussions were held in which several of the demands are nearing (agreement)... Remaining demands are being discussed. They (Trade Union) are meeting (among themselves) on Tuesday. It is now up to them, the ball is in their court.

Latest News from India News Desk