The committee will be headed by former CMD, MECON, KK Mehrotra.

Besides Mehrotra, the panel will have three members -- former MD of Bokaro Steel Plant KAP Singh, Director General, Directorate General of Factory Advice Service & Labour Institute (DGFASLI), Mumbai,  SB Mathur and Chief Scientist of National Metallurgical Laboratory (NML), Jamshedpur, Soumitra Tarafder.

The panel will submit final report to the Secretary, Ministry of Steel by July 17.

At least six persons, including two Deputy General Managers, were killed and over 30 suffered injuries when poisonous gas leaked in Steel Authority of India's Bhilai Plant in Durg district of Chhattisgarh on June 12.

Gas leakage from blast furnace-GCP occurred in morning due to breakdown in a water pump, affecting people working nearby in the plant premises.


Latest News from India News Desk