"We have to sit and decide... may be after the Parliament session," Home Minister Rajnath Singh said when asked about possibilities of filling up vacancies in Raj Bhavans.
There are vacancies in Raj Bhavans in Bihar, Punjab, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura and Telangana. The post of Lieutenant Governor in Puducherry is also lying vacant.

West Bengal Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi is holding the additional charge of Bihar, Meghalaya and Mizoram while Nagaland Governor Padmanabha Acharya is in-charge of the Raj Bhavans in Assam and Tripura.

Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki has been given the additional charge of Punjab governor and administrator of Chandigarh, Rajasthan Governor Kalyan Singh is holding the  additional charge of Himachal Pradesh. Uttarakhand Governor K K Paul is in-charge of the Raj Bhavan of Manipur too.

E S L Narasimhan, who was the Governor of undivided Andhra Pradesh, continues to be the Governor of both Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh after the bifurcation while Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lt. Gen (retd) Ajay Kumar Singh is holding the additional charge of the LG of Puducherry.
The Narendra Modi government, which assumed charge in May 2014, has appointed governors to 11 states. They are Ram Naik (Uttar Pradesh), C Vidyasagar Rao (Maharashtra), P Sathasivam (Kerala), Vajubhai Vala (Karnataka), Om Prakash Kohli (Gujarat), Balram Das Tandon (Chhattisgarh), Mridula Sinha (Goa), Kalyan Singh (Rajasthan), Keshari Nath Tripathi (West Bengal), Solanki (Haryana) and Padmanabha Acharya (Nagaland).

Latest News from India News Desk