GEECL was awarded block MG-CBM-2008/IV for extraction of gas lying below coal seams, called CBM, under the fourth round of CBM block auction in 2010.
The production sharing contract (PSC) for the block was signed on July 29, 2010. "The contractor (GEECL) has not submitted the requisite documents viz bank guarantee, financial performance guarantee etc as required under the contract till date despite notice issued by the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas," he said in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha here.
GEECL has not initiated any exploration activity on the block and the first phase of exploration expired on November 3, 2013.
"Action for cancellation of the contract has been initiated as per the provisions of CBM contract," Pradhan said.
GEECL was awarded CBM block MG-CBM-2008/IV, measuring 667 square kilometers in Tamil Nadu for exploration and exploitation of CBM gas in Mannargudi area, he said.
The Government has so far awarded 33 CBM blocks in four rounds of auction. Of these, 13 blocks have either been relinquished or offered to be relinquished due to poor CBM prospectivity.

GEECL has begun production from Raniganj (South) block in West Bengal and is currently producing 0.38 million standard cubic metres per day while state-owned Oil and Natural Gas Corp (ONGC) has entered development phase in four blocks including Raniganj (North).

Reliance Industries (RIL) has entered development phase in its Sohagpur East and West CBM blocks in Madhya Pradesh while Essar Oil has done the same in case of RG(E)-CBM-2001/1 block in West Bengal.

To a separate question, Pradhan said exploration activities has not been able to start in 6 oil and gas exploration blocks "due to delay in grant of Petroleum Exploration License (PEL) by the respective state governments in the last two years."
Of these blocks, two are in Madhya Pradesh, one in Rajasthan and the rest three in Gujarat. The Madhya Pradesh blocks were awarded to Deep Energy while Focus Energy had bagged rights for the Rajasthan block.

The Gujarat blocks pertain to Deep Energy, Pratibha Oil and Natural Gas Pvt Ltd and Sankalp Oil and Gas Resources, he said.

Latest News from India News Desk