“People of the country have elected the 16th Lok Sabha by blessing the public representatives and casting their votes in unprecedented numbers," Modi told reporters outside the Parliament before the commencement of the first session of the 16th Lok Sabha.
"I assure the people of the country that all efforts will be made in this temple of democracy to fulfill the hopes and aspirations of ordinary citizens of India," he added.
In his brief address, the Prime Minister also extended his good wishes to the citizens.

Meanwhile, Congress MP Kamal Nath was sworn-is as the Protem Speaker of Lok Sabha at the Rashtrapati Bhavan earlier in the day. The Protem Speaker performs the duties of the Speaker from the commencement of the sitting of the Lok Sabha till the election of the Speaker.

The opening day was adjourned for the day after Secretary General P Sreedharan read out the notification constituting the 16th Lok Sabha and the House paid tributes to Union Minister Gopinath Munde, who breathed his last on Tuesday after a cardiac arrest suffered during a road mishap in the national capital.

Members of the House observed two-minute silence as a mark of respect to the departed soul.

The Union Cabinet earlier on Tuesday condoled Munde's demise and passed a resolution, which said the country has lost a visionary leader, who was held in high esteem across the political spectrum. On behalf of the entire nation, the Cabinet extended its heartfelt condolences to the bereaved family.

According to the revised schedule, the election of the Lok Sabha Speaker will take place on Friday whereas the newly-elected members will now be sworn-in on Thursday when the Lok Sabha meets for the second day.

President Pranab Mukherjee will on June 9 address the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament, outlining the roadmap of Narendra Modi-led government.

The discussion on the Motion of Thanks will be taken up as per the original schedule on June 10 and 11 before the session is adjourned sine die.
The Rajya Sabha has been convened from June 9 and will adjourn along with the Lok Sabha.


Latest News from India News Desk