The Election Commission (EC) issued a notification inviting candidates to file their nomination papers for the upcoming by-elections.

However, not a single form has been received in the last two days (Aug 20-21), the office of Gujarat Chief Electoral Officer said in a release here this evening.

The Vadodara seat has been vacated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who decided to retain Varanasi, the other constituency from where he had been elected to the Lok Sabha.

The bypoll-bound Assembly seats are Anand, Limkheda, Deesa, Maninagar, Khambhalia, Tankara, Matar, Talaja and Mangrol. The bypolls had been necessitated as BJP MLAs vacated their seats on getting elected to Lok Sabha.

The last date for accepting the forms is August 27, while the voting will take place on September 13.

Latest News from State News Desk