Voting for six municipal corporations was held on November 26, while that for 31 district panchayats, 230 taluka panchayats and 56 municipalities was held on November 29. The six municipal corporations registered only 45 percent voter turn-out, but elsewhere it was over 60 percent.
The State Election Commission had made all the preparations for the counting at several places across the state, officials said.
The elections are being seen as a challenge for the BJP and the Chief Minister Anandiben Patel, as they come after the Patel quota stir. These are also the first major elections in the state after Anandiben took over from Narendra Modi.
The Congress is hoping to make a comeback in the state, cashing in on resentment of the Patel community against BJP. Patel leaders who are demanding  inclusion in the OBC quota had appealed the community members to vote against BJP and for Congress ahead of the elections.

All the six municipal corporations -- Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, and Bhavnagar -- are at present controlled by the BJP. Most of the other local bodies in rural and semi-urban areas too are controlled by the BJP.

Latest News from State News Desk