Rajkot/Ahmedabad: Former Gujarat Chief Minister and Gujarat Parivartan Party chief Keshubhai Patel, party general secretary Gordhan Zadaphia and state Finance Minister Vajubhai Vala on Friday filed their nominations for the 1st phase of state assembly polls slated for December 13.

Keshubhai will contest from Visavadar in Junagadh, where ruling BJP has fielded Kanubhai Bhalala, while Zadaphia will lock horns with sitting NCP MLA Chandu Vaghasiya from Gondal and BJP candidate Jayrajsinh Jadeja in Rajkot district.

NCP is contesting from nine assembly constituencies in the state after forging an alliance with Congress. Vajubhai Vala, along with Kashyap Shukla, Govind Patel and Bhanuben Babariya, filed his nomination papers.

PCC president Arjun Modhwadia will file his nomination papers tomorrow in Porbandar where BJP has fielded Babu Bokhiriya.

Bhavnagar Rural seat will see Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader Shaktisinh Gohil locking horns with state Fisheries Minister Parshottam Solanki.

Solanki, who is facing charges in a Rs 400-crore fisheries scam, is a Koli community leader and his revival, after a brief illness, is important for BJP to woo Koli community votes.

"332 candidates today filed nomination papers from various constituencies across the state for the first phase of elections. Till now, 543 contestants have filed their nomination papers," Additional Chief Electoral Officer Ashok Manek said.

Saturday is the last date for filing nomination papers for the first phase of elections in 87 constituencies and the  scrutiny of nomination papers will be conducted on November 26.


Latest News from State News Desk