Kohli had exchanged words with Smith after taking a catch to dismiss the Australian during the first T20 International at Adelaide Oval on Tuesday.
The wicket came just moments after Smith had been talking to Channel Nine's commentators, and some interpreted Kohli's actions as a disapproval of the multi-tasking job Smith was doing.
But during the innings break of yesterday's T20 clash at the MCG which India won to clinch the series, Kohli explained it was not related to what Smith was doing with the microphone but still everything to do with what the Australian had said in the middle of Adelaide Oval.

Kohli's gesture post my dismissal was not required: Smith

"I had no idea he had the mic on," Kohli was quoted as saying.
"He (Smith) was sort of having a go at our junior bowlers after hitting a boundary he was having a go at them so I told the umpires to keep an eye out otherwise I would have to step in,” he added.
"They did nothing and in the end I told him that he could go talk in the change room. It had nothing to do with the commentary," he said.

Latest News from Sports News Desk