State Assembly Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal, however, rejected the demand for the division of votes triggering chaos in the Assembly with both opposition BJP and rebel Congress

MLAs sitting on a dharna in the well of the House to insist on this procedure terming it their democratic right.

The Congress has a strength of 36 MLAs in the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly. The ruling party also has the support of 6 members of the Progressive Democratic Front, while the BJP has 28 MLAs.

Rejecting the demand by the opposition, Speaker Kunjwal announced passage of the budget by voice vote and adjournment of the House till March 28 before he left his chair in the midst of prevailing din.

The Speaker was seen leaving his Chair and making an exit even as a mixed group of BJP and nine rebel Congress MLAs continued to sit on a dharna in the well clamouring for a division of votes on the budget which they said was their democratic right.

Denying the members the right to go for a division of votes on the budget was murder of democracy, a BJP leader Umesh Agarwal alleged saying it was evasive tactics of the state government in the face of sure defeat.

Rebel Congress MLAs seen raising anti-government slogans along with BJP in the House were mostly those owing allegiance to former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna including Harak Singh Rawat, Amrita Rawat, Kunwar Pranav Singh Champion, Shaila Rani Rawat, Pradip Batra and Subodh Uniyal, a confirmed Bahuguna loyalist.

There were also reports about security at the Raj Bhawan being tightened with BJP and disgruntled Congress MLAs headed there to contend that the ruling party had been reduced to a minority in the state Assembly. Rebel Congress MLAs led by Rawat's bete noire Bahugunahave been expressing their resentment against the state goverment for some time.

Latest News from State News Desk