In the first round of their meeting here, two days after the party won 31 seats in the 70-member Delhi assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party lawmakers elected the party's chief ministerial candidate Harsh Vardhan as leader of the BJP legislature party.

Delhi BJP unit chief Vijay Goel said the party would not indulge in any ‘jod-tod’ or ‘horse trading’ to form the government. The BJP won 31 seats, emerging as the single largest party. But it is short of the 36 mark in the 70-member assembly that would give it the majority and the right to form the government. Its ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won one seat.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) bagged 28 seats, while the Congress got only eight seats. One seat each has gone to an Independent and the Janata Dal-United.


Latest News from India News Desk