Under this, 7,241 multi-storey units would be constructed and basic amenities would be provided to slum-dwellers of these towns, the chief minister said while presiding over the second meeting of state-level sanctioning and monitoring committee of Rajiv Awas Yojna, an official spokesman said.

The chief minister directed officers to prepare slum-free city plan of all towns falling in nine Municipal Corporations as well as of Sirsa and Hansi within a period of six months.
He asked them to ensure timely completion and quality in the works of all such projects so that beneficiaries could get houses and required basic amenities well in time.
Expressing concern over the practice of resale of houses by beneficiaries, the Chief Minister asked the officers to draft stern rules so as keep an end on such practices.
"Every unit should be given on leasehold and transfer permission should not be allowed. Apart from this, resumption aspect should also be taken into consideration and the same should be strictly enforced," he said.
Keeping in view the weak financial position of beneficiaries, it was also decided in the meeting that the grant to beneficiaries would be released in 3 installments.
First at the time of foundation, second one before putting the roof and third would be released after completion, the spokesperson said.

It was informed in the meeting that under RAY, seven projects costing Rs 475.35 crore has been sanctioned for six towns namely Sirsa, Ambala, Rohtak, Yamunanagar, Hisar and Hansi for construction of 7,842 dwelling units besides providing basic amenities in slums.

Latest News from State News Desk