Chandigarh: Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who is also Chairman of Haryana Urdu Akademi, has announced the names of 18 litterateurs who will be honoured for their outstanding contribution in the field of Urdu literature.

Giving detailed information about the winners of the awards, Hooda said that Naresh of Panchkula would be honoured with the Haryana Gaurav, Fakre Haryana Puraskar along with prize money of Rs 1.50 lakh.

Shakil-ur-Rehman of Gurgaon would be honoured with Hali Award with a cash prize of Rs 1.21 lakh, a shawl, a memento and a certificate, he said.

Shakil-ur-Rehman has written more than 36 books in different genres of Urdu language and more than eight Ph.Ds have been written on his works in different universities.

Hooda said that a special award carrying Rs 51,000 would be presented to Amar Singh Sahni of Faridabad for his outstanding contribution towards Urdu literature.


Latest News from Haryana News Desk