By-elections for two Parliamentary constituencies in Maharashtra's Beed and Odisha's Kandhamal will also be held on October 15 and counting for all the seats will take place on October 19.

The Model Code of Conduct comes into effect immediately for all the seats going to polls, Sampath said.
Notification for polls will be issued on September 20 and last date for filing nomination is September 27 for all seats except Kandhamal for which the notification will be on September 19 and last date of nomination is September 26.

Asked about elections in Jammu and Kashmir, which is witnessing worst-ever floods, Sampath said the Commission was watching the situation very closely in the state and "a decision will be taken after things come to some shape".

Tenure of Maharashtra Assembly, which has 288 members, comes to an end on November 8, while that of the 90-member Haryana House will end on October 27.

According to the Election Commission, Haryana will have 16, 244 polling stations while Maharashtra will have 19,403 polling stations.

While Congress is ruling Haryana, the Congress-NCP alliance is ruling Maharashtra.

Latest News from India News Desk