Ranchi: Senior BJP leader and former MLA Ramji Lal Sharda, Navin Jaiswal of AJSU party, Jharkhand Vikash Morcha(Prajatantrik) nominee Ajay Nath Shahdeo and five other candidates on Wednesday filed their nomination papers for Hatia Assembly by-poll which is slated for June 12. Kailash Yadav of JD (U) also filed his nomination papers.

On May 19, Congress nominee Sunil Sahay, younger brother of Union Tourism Minister Subodhkant Sahay, had filed his nomination papers in four separate sets.

Last date of filing nominations is May 25 while the scrutiny will take place on May 26 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is May 28. Counting of votes is slated for June 15.

The by-poll for Hatia was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Gopal Sharan Nath Sahdeo in 2010.


Latest news from Jharkhand News Desk