The eight persons, who also include the Parliamentary Affairs Secretary, have been summoned to give evidence.

The summons was issued by Justice P Bhavadasan on an election petition by Suresh, district president of BJP in the Thiruvananthapuram, alleging that acceptance of Tharoor's nomination was improper due to 'non-disclosure' of assets of his late wife Sunanda Pushkar in the affidavit.

The petitioner also sought declaration of O Rajagopal, who came a close second, as the winning candidate.

Latest News from State News Desk