Ranchi: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren was sworn in as Jharkhand's ninth chief minister on Saturday. Besides Chief Minister, state Governor Syed Ahmed also administered oath to Rajendra Prasad Singh of Congress and Annapurna Devi of RJD as ministers.

The Governor invited Soren after the latter staked claim on July 9 to form a government in the state, in alliance with Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal, smaller parties and independent MLAs.
Soren, who gave the Governor a list of 43 MLAs support in the 82-member Assembly, is expected to expand his ministry after taking the floor test. The alternative coalition comes nearly six months after the imposition of the President's rule.

Earlier, the President’s rule was revoked on Saturday on recommendation of Union Cabinet which paved the way for installation of a government led by JMM leader Hemant Soren.
The Central rule was imposed on January 18 after the JMM withdrew support to the BJP-led government under Arjun Munda on January 8.
The JMM had extended support to the BJP on September 11, 2010, ending the President's rule then. The central rule was imposed after the BJP had pulled out from the Shibu-Soren led alliance on May 24, 2010, as JMM chief had voted along with the UPA in a cut motion in Lok Sabha that year.


Latest News from Jharkhand News Desk