About 58 percent of MPs elected to the new Lok Sabha are 'first-timers'.

According to PRS Legislative Research, 315 MPs have been elected for the first-time to the Lok Sabha in the 2014 general elections.

These numbers include MPs who might have been Members of the Rajya Sabha before but have been elected to the Lok Sabha for the first time, a statement said.

Of the 281 Bharatiya Janata Party MPs elected to the 16th Lok Sabha, 116 MPs had been MPs before while 165 MPs have been elected for the first-time.

Among the 44 MPs, the Congress has nine first-time MPs while the AIADMK has 34 first-time MPs out of the total 37 MPs elected.

Other regional party, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has 19 first-time MPs while Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has 12.

The other interesting fact about the 2014 general elections is that leaders like Ram Vilas Paswan from Bihar, Kamal Nath from Madhya Pradesh and PA Sangma from Meghalaya have been elected to the Lok Sabha for the ninth time.

Kariya Munda and Shibu Soren from Jharkhand, Sumitra Mahajan from Madhya Pradesh and Arjun Charan from Odisha have been elected to Lok Sabha for the eighth time.

Mahajan also has the distinction of being the woman MP with the most legislative experience in the 16th Lok Sabha, the release added.


Latest News from India News Desk