Shimla: Senior Congress leaders Virbhadra Singh and Vidya Stokes were among 257 candidates who entered the fray on Wednesday on the last day of filing papers for Himachal Pradesh assembly election, taking the number of nominations to a record 531.

Himachal Congress chief Virbhadra Singh and Leader of the Opposition Vidya Stokes will try their luck from Shimla (Rural) and Theog constituencies respectively. Ministers Mohinder Singh, Narinder Bragta and Khimi Ram, state BJP head Satpal Singh Satti and former HPCC head Kaul Singh Thakur were among 237 aspirants who entered the race today for the 68-seat House.

A number of BJP and Congress rebels also filed their nominations. Mohinder Singh entered the fray from Dharampur seat, Bragta from Jubbal-Kotkhai, Khimi from Kullu, Satti from Una and Thakur from Drang.

Former Parliamentary secretary and BJP rebel Chet Ram threw his hat into the ring from Kinnaur (ST) seat as Himachal Lokhit Party nominee.



Latest News from Himachal Pradesh News desk