Shimla: For constructive and progressive journalism in 2009, three staff members of Dainik Jagran have been selected by the Himachal Pradesh government for coveted awards. These awards will be handed over by Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal in a function here on May 4.

Bureau head of Himachal, Rachna Gupta has been named for the state-level award, whereas Sunil Rana and Ajay Thakur have been selected for district-level awards. Secretary of Information and Public Relations department, RS Singh informed that Chandigarh-based journalist Charanjeet Ahuja has been named for national award.

Rachna Gupta, Ashwini Sharma, Archana Phull, Sunil Sharma and Manish have been selected for state-level award. In the district level category, Dainik Jagran reporter from Una district, Ajay Thakur won the first prize. Second place in the category went to DR Saklani, whereas the third place went to Dainik Jagran reporter Sunil Rana.

“For constructive and progressive journalism, the state government gives award each year, and from next year we will also be felicitating journalists from electronic media,” RS Singh said.