Hockey India secretary general and Hero Hockey India League chairman Dr Narinder Batra said that the auction would give the franchisees a chance to buy new players to replace permanent withdrawals and complete their squads for the coming season.

"The base prices for the players vary from USD 2,600 to USD 25,000. With the inclusion of a new team in HIL 2014, we can expect more spectacular hockey this time," Batra said. "The second season will be an exciting opportunity for the young and coming talent to leave its mark on this tournament. We are sure Hero HIL 2014 will build on the massive landmark that the inaugural edition was," he added.

Nearly 154 players from India and overseas have made themselves available for the auction. In the inaugural season, 70 top domestic players including the Indian national side as well as 50 international players, played for the five teams. Of the 120 players, who played in the inaugural Hero Hockey India League, 60 were Olympians.

The list includes winners of the prestigious FIH Player of the Year Award, including Jamie Dwyer (2004, 2009, 2010, 2011), Teun de Nooijer (2003, 2005, 2006) and Moritz Fuerste (2012). Seven of the top 10 FIH rated players competed in the HIL. The inaugural season, won by the Ranchi Rhinos, was telecast in 146 countries.

The second edition of the league will be played from January 23, 2014 with the final scheduled for February 23, 2014.


Latest News from Sports News Desk